Skip navigation

Daily Archives: December 4th, 2007

I have recently been doing some free lance writing on the Internet, and I have enjoyed it immensely! On one of the sites I write, a girl was complaining about the small size of  the upfront payments she was offered for her articles. (This was on a site that also gives you a bonus per so many page views.)  They offer very small upfront payments also. At any rate, she was saying how she could make much more money at her job, and she was basically going to take her marbles and go home. (It’s a bit of a long story, but she kept coming into the forums, and complaining over and over, and saying what a great writer she was.) People gave her pointers about how to get higher offers, but she was so sold on herself, she wouldn’t listen to anyone but her own ego. Day after day, this went on, and people were starting to write her nasty messages because she was getting on everyone’s nerves.  Finally I decided to write to her, and I said that I thought a little humility was called for. Writing is a learning process, and no one can know it all. I told her there were things to be learned everyday, and that if we kept trying, eventually we would get better, and possibly get higher offers. But the main thing is that I write because I HAVE to. I am passsionate about writing, and I do it as unto the Lord.

I really believe that everything we do in life requires humility, and that the way up is down. We need to ask ourselves what our true motivations are, and what is our reward? To make a name for ourselves, to make lots of money, to feel important, or just to glorify God in all that we do. When it’s all been said and done, only what we do for Him will last…