Skip navigation

Tonight we went to a place called “Lamberts-Home of The Throwed Rolls.” Yes, you heard me right. They say “throwed rolls” instead of “thrown rolls.” Imagine my surprise when we were seated, and a young man two rows over from me threw a roll at me!  Wouldn’t you know it? It landed right between my legs! (Thank goodness I was wearing slacks.) The next roll he threw hit me in the chest. (Great aim, huh?) Anyway, they throw the rolls with gloved hands. But some of them land on the floor.

After you order off the menu, they come to your table with great big pans of what they call “pass arounds”. These are items like fried okra, home fried potatoes, and field peas. By the time you’ve eaten all this, you wish you hadn’t ordered off the menu!  My husband said it was the only place that he’s ever been where he couldn’t eat all the food. There was just too much! And it was good!!!!

Meanwhile, rolls are flying all over the place, but I noticed that most of the guys were throwing them underhanded, close to the tables they were serving. My waiter (or pitcher) threw me overhanded fastballs, from across the room LOL! And they were hot rolls when they landed! (Don’t know how they keep them so hot!) Anyway, what a wild place!

(It was quite a different experience, and one I am not likely to forget anytime soon.)

Then I shopped a little at Old Time Pottery, while my husband got us some groceries to take back to the beach house. It was so much fun to check out, and then go put my feet up at a snack area, and drink a coke and relax (while the rest of the world was going crazy.) Never have I had such a peaceful Christmas. We will be staying cozy for the next couple of days, except for Christmas dinner out.

I had some unexpected freelance assignments that came in just before Christmas, and I’ve been working on them for 2 days. I couldn’t turn them down, because they were the first offers that I’ve received from this company.  But at any rate, they’re finished now, and I plan to rest and sit in my cozy chair for the next 4 days. We will be returning home on Sunday, so we still have quite a bit of time. Tomorrow we’ll take a walk on the beach. (We are right on the ocean, and the view is out of this world.) It was very cold the past few days, so it has really felt like Christmas.

I feel so very blessed to be able to do this, and we may make it a tradition. It’s time for us to make new Christmas memories. I hope wherever you are tonight, that you will focus on happy memories of Christmas past, and look with expectation toward a bright future. Every day is a miracle, and you never know what’s just around the corner. God is faithful, and you are always on His mind. Merry Christmas Everyone! Sparkle

2 Comments

  1. It sounds like you are having a good time. Now tell me, do they also give you rolls to eat or are the “Throwed” rolls to go with dinner? Sounds like fun!! Keep enjoying yourself sparkle–My best, Frank

  2. Hi Frank: You made me laugh! Yes, the ones they throw are the ones you actually eat. (They throw them with food gloves on their hands.) You catch them in your bare hands. They are so hot when you get them, and remain that way for a long time. How they do that, I don’t know, because rolls generally cool before you can get them to the table. They play fabulous “oldie” country music (what else?) and the waiters and waitresses dress in blue shirts, with red suspenders (apparently the way one of the original Lamberts dressed.) There were many news articles about the place, and apparently there is more than one (though this was the only one I’ve ever heard of.) There are at least three dining rooms. We were in the second one, and the place was packed with people. The decor was “early tacky” with hams hanging by your booth. LOL! The booths were made of wood, and there was a roll of paper towels on each table. Lots of pictures of the whole Lambert family, an antique stove, a guitar signed by Lynard Skynard (saying they wrote “Sweet Home Alabama” for them.) Hard to believe, but we ARE just across the Florida-Alabama line. LOL!

    The waitress came up to me, and asked if I would like to try their sauce. She squeezed a catsup-type bottle, and red stuff came squirting out at me. (But thank goodness it was a piece of yarn.) Really funny! I jumped out of my seat.

    Yes Frank, I am having a great time, and my husband says we are going to get to come back often. That would be nice. He’s a bit of a workaholic, so we will see. He REALLY likes it here though.

    I wanted to wish you a very Merry Christmas. I know that it will be sad, because your momma is missing. But think of all those wonderful Christmas memories that will sustain you for the rest of your life. It sounds like your family had the best Christmases!!!! You were blessed with a mother who was everything a mother should be. May God bless you, Sparkle


Leave a Reply

