Skip navigation

“Too many pieces of music finish too long after the end.” Igor Stravinsky

Isn’t that the way with so many things in life as well? We often get comfortable in a certain routine, profession, way of life, etc. We don’t really like change. Sometimes we may consider it, but we quickly talk ourselves out of it. Too many dragons stand in our way, and it’s just not worth the effort. We find ourselves reasoning this way far too often as we age.

But the only thing worse that ending a thing too soon, is not ending it soon enough. I find that in my life, God has to force me out of my complacency. It’s almost like he tilts my chair, and I find myself on the floor, wondering what happened. I never would have exited the chair, left to my own devices. It was cozy, and I was happy, no–comfortable there. (If the truth be known, I  might have often contemplated change, and even felt a stirring inside, that signified that it was time to move on. But there was no graceful exit that I could think of, and that would leave me wondering what to do next.)

Exactly. But if we really believe that God has a plan for our lives, then we have to be willing at any moment to go down a different road, to have faith that there is something He is leading us toward, (or away from.) The older I get, the more I trust this. I have seen too many times when it seemed that my world had ended, only to find a new, and better direction. The ending of one thing is the beginning of something else. If only we could grasp that truth. And so shall it be until we leave this earth.

I rather welcome the opportunities now.  (Someone said recently, “When God closes a door, He pushes you out a window.”  🙂 Actually there’s a lot of truth in that.) It’s exactly what the mother eagle does when she wants to teach her babies to fly. She shoves them out of the nest, and then at the last moment swoops down to catch them. And she does this continually until they get a feel for flying. It might seem cruel, but actually it’s just the opposite. Eagles were meant to fly–to soar on the currents of the wind–not to stay in the nest, however cozy it might be.

One of my favorite sayings is on my stove-top in a picture frame. It says, “A sailboat in harbor is safe, but that’s not what sailboats are for.” I continually have to remind myself that safe is not always fulfilling. Safe is rarely our destiny.  What would life be without risks? Love is one of the greatest risks we take. But who would deny its pleasures? Anything that we desire to do in life requires risk. And we often make the mistake of thinking that there is only one thing we are called to do. And like the song that should have ended sooner, we hang onto what we know for dear life, because we are afraid of what we don’t know. We keep trying to make music when the song has ended.

I believe there is a time and a season for everything. Fruit out of season is not very good, is it? Clothes out of season seem strange. God has a perfect timing and season for everything in our lives. I believe we are called to a purpose until we die. That purpose may change forms, but it will be congruent with our destiny.

So listen closely to the music, be aware of the pauses, and of where the song should end. Remember there are many more songs to be sung, more dances to dance, and more wisdom to receive and impart. Never be afraid to bring down the curtain on one thing, and raise the curtain on something else. Be led by the peace in your heart, not what others try to tell you. Don’t let circumstances alone guide you into change. Listen to “The Still, Small Voice” that will never lead you off course. If He tells you to go…go, and if He tells you to wait…wait…

Please see other articles that I have written here:

http://www.associatedcontent.com/user/109497/lonnette_harrell.html

Leave a Reply

