Skip navigation

When you have only two pennies left in the world, buy a loaf of bread with one, and a lily with the other. Chinese Proverb

 

I guess that sums up the way I want to live my life. Having the necessary things to survive, but not without the beauty that sustains. A piece of bread can fill the stomach, but a lovely flower feeds the soul.

Even when I’m alone, I light candles, just to watch them flicker and to smell their delightful fragrance. And when I have a cup of tea, I will sometimes put it in my finest china cup, because that is part of the pleasure. And when I sit in my cozy chair, I will cover my lap with an emerald velvet blanket, because it makes me smile.

When I grocery shop, you will sometimes see me with a fresh bouquet, along with my milk and eggs. And I often put on perfume after a bath, when there’s no one but me to enjoy it.

These are the pleasures that see us through the sometimes weary days, without color or laughter. They are the music of life in an orchestra of chaos. They are the small things that give us the strength to endure the difficulties of existence.

So put on your warmest slippers, and your softest robe. Light a fire, even if you’re the only one to feel its warmth. Dance in the kitchen, and sing in the shower. Some day you will need those moments to carry you through…

Please see other articles that I have written here:

http://www.associatedcontent.com/user/109497/lonnette_harrell.html

 

2 Comments

  1. this brought tears to my eyes..thank you

  2. Thank you for that lovely comment. I am happy that you were touched emotionally, and hope you will come by again.


Leave a Reply

