Skip navigation

There’s a roast in the oven today, and the wonderful aroma fills our house. I’m thinking of the security that a roast cooking in the oven represents. For me, it goes way back, to a short time in my life, when I felt totally secure. My mom had divorced my dad, when I was only 2 years old, and we were living with my grandparents. As I said before, I don’t think it was a happy time for her. But it was the best of times for me. My grandmother was very nurturing. She was happy to be a homemaker, and she was good at it. Everything that she did, was done with love. And that made all the difference. I never felt like I was in the way, or simply tolerated. In fact, I was cherished. It was a simple life, but it was a good one. And one that I no longer had after I was 7 years old. I have felt the absence of that time, for all my life. (My mom and I moved from Macon, Georgia to Atlanta, and she remarried shortly afterwards.)

So today I am cooking roast my grandmother’s way–in an old-fashioned blue roaster with a lid. She always brought water up the sides of the pan, and the roast baked (and boiled) until it was so tender that it fell apart. (Sometimes it takes 4 1/2 to 5 hours at 350 degrees, but it is so worth the wait!)  🙂 This is the only way that I like to cook roast, because there is no other method (that I have found) where it comes out as tender. I might add that I usually get at least 2 roasts-enough to fill up the blue roaster. If you’re going to spend that much time cooking something, why not make enough for a second meal?

Since I am trying to lose weight, (diabetes), we won’t have the usual roasted or mashed potatoes. We will probably have a green bean casserole, and perhaps some fresh squash.

(My daughter is grown–sort of. As grown as she can be at 19, and is no longer living at home, so there is no child to cook for anymore.) But my husband enjoys food to the max, and there is great joy in just watching him eat. I could never have a more appreciative consumer. LOL! My baby girl always enjoyed roast also!

I guess you’ve heard the term “comfort foods.” They are foods that soothe us, because they remind us of another place and time. They represent safety, security, warmth, and most of all–love. That’s what this roast is to me–a comfort food that reminds me of a time when all was right with the world…

Please view other articles that I have written here:

http://www.associatedcontent.com/user/109497/lonnette_harrell.html

Leave a Reply

