Skip navigation

Since I was a little girl, I knew I wanted to write. I would often write poems and give them to my mom. One was titled, “Be Happy”-a little sing-song ditty that was very joyful. I also found a note that I wrote to her when I was very young. It said, “I hope you have a very happy life.” And once I wrote a short story called, “Gerald, The Long-Necked Giraffe”. (Is there any other kind?):) Humble beginnings…

When I was in college, I wrote a story about my dad. My mom and (biological) dad divorced when I was two years old, and I never felt like I knew him the way I wanted to. We lived a little too far apart to make the trip an easy one (particularly for a child.) Though when I was still young,(perhaps 10 or 11), I would ride a Greyhound bus alone for several hours, and actually have to call a cab to take me across town to change buses in Augusta, and then continue on to South Carolina. (We lived in Atlanta.) I can’t imagine a preteen girl doing that now, but those were different times, and I was very mature for my age. I thought it was quite an adventure.

The short story that I wrote in college, was about a girl who (through a letter) confronted her father about his absence in her life, but after she mailed it, it came back, because she had inadvertently written the post office box numbers wrong. But instead of writing a new envelope, she tore it up, and never told him what she really felt. It had taken all her courage to mail it the first time, and she couldn’t go through that again.

That’s how it was with me. I was hurt, a little angry, and needed a dad so much, but I never was able to connect with him on the level that I wanted to. I think that writing that short story in college allowed me to get a glimpse of how cathartic writing could be. I could take all the feelings that were churning inside of me, and release them on paper, and for a little while ease the pain.

During this time, I also used to enjoy writing songs (minus the music.)

For 9 years I wrote and recorded my own radio show, “Love Notes”. It was a 15 minute show at lunchtime with inspirational/motivational Christian teaching, and songs that went along with my message. That fulfilled me more than any other job I’ve ever had. I loved it. It took a lot of work and personal discipline to keep turning out those programs. That little 15 minute show took over 3 hours to research and write, pick out the music, cue everything, and record. I had to stay home when my friends were going out for lunch and other activities. But for the most part, I didn’t mind. I felt it was a calling. By the way, my biological dad was a DJ for several years, and he used to send me reel-to-reel recordings of his shows, and lots of demo records (every teenager’s dream.) So I guess radio felt as natural as breathing because it was in my blood.

When I adopted my little girl at age three, she had a lot of adjustment problems, and I had to give up radio and devote myself to her. I always wanted to go back into it, and I was offered a couple of chances by the station manager, but it never was a good time for me. I still dream of doing radio again someday.

When my husband and I opened our coffeehouse, Crossroads, we also had a Bible study there on Sunday evenings. We would have a meal together (that I cooked), my husband and I would lead praise and worship, (I also love to sing), and then I would teach. I would write all the sermons, and I loved doing the research and finding out what the words meant in the original Hebrew or Greek. Then we sold the coffeehouse, and I had no real outlet for my writing for quite awhile.

My step-dad died a couple of years ago, and as most of my blog readers know, I’ve been taking care of my elderly, very sick mom, and I haven’t had much time for anything.

I was a poster, and then the moderator, on a Grief Board for the last 2 years, and during that time, I started writing on and off. I wrote a lot of poetry about my step-dad’s death, and how much I missed him. I wrote my feelings out on the board, and answered other people’s posts about their grief. And I really feel that writing out my feelings was such a huge part of processing my grief. It was my grief therapy. I received a lot of healing that way.

About September of last year, I started doing some freelance writing for pay online–articles and abstracts. I have received a better education than I got in college, and when I write abstracts I often have to write about subjects I’m not very knowledgeable about, and I have learned so much. The conversations that I now have with my husband, (an attorney), over dinner are amazing. LOL! Politics, economics, entertainment, religion, philosophy, psychology, world events, etc. I love reading as much as writing!

I guess you could say that writing is my best friend. It gives me a voice, and lets me express my deepest feelings. I hope that I will continue to write for the rest of my life, because it is such a great joy to me…

Please view other articles that I have written here:

http://www.associatedcontent.com/user/109497/lonnette_harrell.html

One Comment

  1. You sound like a cool person. Keep up the writing. Peace


Leave a Reply

