Skip navigation

Lonnette Harrell

1.  If I speak in the tongues of men and of angels,
…….but have not love,
…….I am only a resounding gong or a clanging cymbal.

2.  If I have the gift of prophecy and can fathom all mysteries and all knowledge,
…….and if I have a faith that can move mountains,
…….but have not love,
…….I am nothing.

3.  If I give all I possess to the poor and surrender my body to the flames,
……but have not love,
……I gain nothing.

4.  Love is patient, love is kind.
……It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud.
5.  It is not rude, it is not self-seeking,
……it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs.

6.  Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth.

7.  It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.

8.  Love never fails.
……………But
……where there are prophecies, they will cease;
,,,,,,where there are tongues, they will be stilled;
……where there is knowledge, it will pass away.

9.  .,For we know in part and we prophesy in part,
10.  but when perfection comes, the imperfect disappears.

11.  When I was a child, I talked like a child, I thought like a child, I reasoned like a child.
…….When I became a man, I put childish ways behind me.

12.  Now we see but a poor reflection as in a mirror; then we shall see face to face.
……..Now I know in part; then I shall know fully, even as I am fully known.

13.  And now these three remain: faith, hope and love.
……..But the greatest of these is love.

1 Corinthians 13

Today is Valentine’s Day. It’s a great day for remembering those we love-for letting them know how much they mean to us. Perhaps this can be a new beginning for many of us. A starting place for trying to love in a pure and unselfish way. Love like that makes a lasting contribution to people, and to the world.

Many things in this world try to pass for love, but by the definition above, few people truly love. I know I fall short continually. But I desire so much to love that way.

Mother Teresa lived and spoke love. A couple of her quotes speak to me so deeply. “It is not the magnitude of our actions, but the amount of love that is put into them that matters.”  And also, “There are no great things, only small things done with great love.”

So much of our time is wasted trying to do flashy things, when small things, done with great love, is all that is required. People respond to love. So many people are hurting in this world. So many have been wounded by others. So many hearts are bleeding, so many tears are falling. Our society has become so self-centered. We do not see the wounded lying on the side of the road, as we pass by. We do not hear their cries. They need us to pour in the oil and the wine, as the Good Samaritan did, without thought of himself, and his own problems. He stopped and cared for a wounded man, and took him to shelter, and gave of himself and his money. He could have walked on by. Others surely did (on their way to church.)

But this man saw a need, heard a cry, and responded with great love and compassion.

I pray that I will follow his example. People may not be literally lying on the side of the road, but they are surely wounded and crying everywhere we go. It is God’s heart that we bring healing, comfort, and love.

Without love, we are nothing.

Love means we see, and hear, another person’s pain…

Please view other articles that I have written here:

http://www.associatedcontent.com/user/109497/lonnette_harrell.html

Leave a Reply

