Skip navigation

My husband told me tonight that there had been a home invasion in our small neighborhood yesterday, just a few blocks away from us. Generally our neighborhood is very safe, but we had another robbery, not so long ago, on our own street, in the middle of the day, while the neighbors on either side were home.

The one yesterday started with a knock on the door at 2:30 a.m., and apparently the people opened the door, and the invaders pushed their way in with weapons.  (Never open the door to strangers, or anyone, if you aren’t expecting them these days.) They duct-taped a woman and her adult (I think) son, while they proceeded to rob them of their valuables. Amazingly, the two were not harmed, but they were very shaken, even the next day. (Can you blame them?) They have not yet caught the guys (a white guy and two black men.) Chances are they probably won’t either.

Once our home (the same one we live in now) was burglarized. It was quite a few years ago, and apparently they got in through an open window, in what’s considered my husband’s back room. I had come home around 5:00 p.m. (still daylight), and noticed a music stand turned over in our family room. I calmly picked it back up. It didn’t really set off any warnings at the time. I then called my husband, and arranged to meet him somewhere for dinner, and left the house. When we came home that night, I went upstairs and walked into the bedroom. It took a moment for me to comprehend what I was actually seeing. All the dresser drawers were pulled open, and the cabinet doors to the bedside tables were standing open also. I ran from the room screaming to my husband, “We’ve been robbed.” We called the police, and they seemed to think it was teenagers, because of the things they took. They walked right past more expensive things like VCR recorders and cameras, etc., and instead went to my jewelry box, and our boom boxes. (I think they may have been disappointed greatly. Almost all of it was costume jewelry, and I found one true gold chain thrown down, and left behind. Go figure.) Anyway, I didn’t relish losing all my earrings, necklaces, and our boom boxes, etc., but that wasn’t really the worst part about it. It wasn’t so much the things we lost, as it was the feeling of being violated. Someone was in our home. Someone had gone through our things, and someone knew where we lived, and how to get in.

If that wasn’t bad enough, the police said that they thought the robbers might have been hiding in the house, when I came home. Did you get that? They were probably in the house. We found a Swavorski paperweight thrown on the floor by a bed, in the room next to the family room, where I had made the phone call, and picked up the music stand. It looked as if someone had intended to take it, but then was startled and threw it to the ground, and perhaps hid. Anyway, to think they may have been there when I walked in is scary.

Someday I will tell you something that affected me much more in the way of fear, but that’s for another day.

At any rate, I am usually sleeping when my husband goes to work, and we are going to make sure that the burglar alarm is on when he leaves, and also at night. I guess a lot of people get somewhat complacent with that. It makes me mad that people have to terrorize others, and break into their homes, which should be a sanctuary from the world. We are living in horrendous times. People will kill their mothers for a dollar to get drugs. So many treat life as less than nothing. They think  absolutely nothing of killing someone, and they don’t seem to exhibit any remorse.

As women, it seems that we can’t even live a normal life now. We can’t even walk to our car in a mall parking lot without being on edge, we can’t go walking or jogging alone anymore, and it seems we aren’t even safe in our own homes. So many of our freedoms are being taken from us. We should be free to enjoy life, without always looking over our shoulder, worrying that somebody is going to harm us. But sadly, that’s the kind of world we live in now…

2 Comments

  1. LONNIE,Your last 2 blogs remind me so much of my TUES., &weekly visits to the cancer DR,with him .There are so many elderly people in there ALONE !!!!!!I just made the comment this week how can anyone leave them alone , they can hardly get outa there chair when called back to see the DR. It is so vert sad , i want to help each & everyone of them , some im sure their family just dosnt have time ! duh , how sad . LOVE YOUR STORIES EVERY MORNING . LOVE & PEACE SANDY SHANES MOM

  2. I just reread that cancer dr visits with my father


Leave a Reply

