Skip navigation

I’m feeling nostalgic today. I guess that’s normal at the start of a new year. Not only do we look forward, but we tend to reflect on the past as well. For those of us that have hit the half century mark (or beyond), a good deal of our life, probably the majority of our life, is now behind us. It’ funny, you don’t have these kind of thoughts very much until you reach 50 or so. I am now 55 (on the outside at least.) I still feel young on the inside, in many respects, and ancient in others. Ancient in the sorrow I’ve experienced-young in my memories of what it was like to be youthful.

There is a certain sadness when you realize that most of the adult people who actually were with you in your childhood, are either dead or dying.

I guess since I am the Moderator on a Grief Board, I live with reminders of death daily. I read of so many people who had plans, but those plans were shattered by an unexpected death. It’s very sad, but it also reminds me constantly of how important every day should be with our loved ones.

So like I said, I’m nostalgic today.  The dictionary defines “nostalgia” as : A bittersweet longing for things, persons, or situations of the past.” I’ve been listening to some old music for a few days now, and realizing how blessed I was to live in a time of some of the greatest music that has ever been recorded. I was born in 1952, so I enjoyed 50s music, 60s and 70s. I loved the folk music era, and the rock and roll of the late sixties and seventies.  (Never did care for disco.) In many ways, our lives are defined by music. A song can take you right back to a place and time you thought was safely packed away, in a suitcase at the back of your closet. But in an instant, you are transported to your past. A song can make you feel good or make you cry, but music is definitely emotional.

So today, I’m thinking about the past, and remembering. Trying to recall what it was like to be carefree. (If I ever really was.) In many ways, I had to grow up fast, and I was always an overly sensitive child, always trying to please everyone.

And I’m pondering the future, and wondering what it holds.  And just wondering where the time goes…

One Comment

  1. well, its a kewl post
    i like the way u have written it 🙂

    takecare..


Leave a Reply

