Skip navigation

Well, it’s 1:15 a.m. and I just got through eating some deviled eggs! LOL! When you’re the hostess, you don’t actually taste your food all that much, since you’re so busy seeing that other people are happy. So I always sneak a snack late at night-when it’s all over.

It was a pleasant evening, and both my husband and I are exhausted. There is just so much to do to get ready for Christmas, and so much to do to recover from it! But it’s over for another year, and I’m still breathing…faintly. (Smile)

My husband and I never seem to have a chance to give each other our gifts before Christmas, so we always wait for a quieter evening. We have learned this works better for us, than trying to grab a moment when we’re exhausted. Maybe that’s part of getting older. You learn that things can be postponed and still be good. (Sometimes even better.)

We had a nice dinner, door prizes that you can only claim if you put on the silly headband Christmas hats-(things like reindeer ears, light-bulbs, etc.), and a really fun game that involves winning money (lots of fun). Then we opened the presents. And as they say, a good time was had by all. (But then my husband and I had to clean it all up.) Well, you know the story.

Now for the first time this whole season, I feel peaceful. I can sleep in tomorrow. I can warm up leftovers for dinner (we love them.) And I don’t have to do all this for another year. Every year I say that will be the last time I go through all this, but I just keep on feeling like I have to do it. Then when my daughter gets married, she’ll want to have Christmas at home with us, I imagine. And hey-I’m just wondering… is there any escape from all this in a woman’s entire life???? Hmmm…maybe not. Lol!

But for now, I choose to be like Scarlett O’Hara, and think about that…tomorrow! (Wink)

Leave a Reply

