Skip navigation

Well here we are…twas the night before Christmas. I have one bathroom left to clean, (still cleaning), and lots to cook. I have never had a Christmas where I moved so slowly-almost as if I’m watching myself from afar. Just don’t have energy this year, and am fighting another UTI infection. (I’m on the meds.) At any rate, things are going pretty well, and I forced myself to sleep in today. What doesn’t get done, doesn’t get done. And in the long run, what does it really matter anyway, right? (I will close the door to rooms that I couldn’t get to, hoping no poor soul will try and open them.)

I plan to spend the rest of the night cooking, and watching Christmas shows on TV. I love cooking, ( but hate grocery shopping.) Cooking is fun, and I will likely be cooking most of the day tomorrow as well. Our gathering will be in the evening, around 6:00 p.m. We will have Shepherd’s pie (a wonderful dish with ground sirloin, peas, carrots, mushrooms, onions, spaghetti sauce, and mashed potatoes spread on the top, covered in lots of melted cheese.) Truly decadent and amazingly delicious!  It’s a Christmas tradition at our house. I think I’ll fix a green bean casserole, a squash casserole, deviled eggs, croissant rolls, and cheesecake with strawberries for dessert. (Other desserts as well.) Sound good? Yum….

So I will finally get a chance to rest when this is over-well at least a little. I bought myself one of those bed rests with a place to hold your drink, and a massager inside. LOL! That will be my present to myself when Christmas is over. I will sneak in my bed, all cozy under the covers, and read a good book. (But for now, there’s all that cooking to do…)

I know that someday I will probably miss all this hustle-bustle (though I can’t imagine it now), so I will try and remember what is really important as we gather together. And that is, that we are together, enjoying each other, and celebrating the gift of Christmas…

Leave a Reply

