Skip navigation

 Lonnette Harrell

I just wrote an article about a town in Colorado, Fort Collins, that had a task force that made a proposal to ban any displays that were even remotely derived from Christian roots. Now you might expect that I am referring to nativity scenes or such. But hang on, I’m talking about colored lights and Christmas trees! (I know-totally unbelievable!) One lady stated at the City Council meeting, “The American Christmas has nothing to do with Jesus.” This brought laughter from the gathered crowd, who had come to implore the council to continue with the traditional displays. The “Grinch” task force wanted plain garland and strictly secular decorations, such as snowflakes, because Christmas trees and lights were decidedly “religious”.

For my full article, visit here: http://www.associatedcontent.com/article/465167/fort_collins_colorado_tries_to_ban.html

I don’t know about you, but I’ve had it with activists who try tell us what we can and cannot do. We have been celebrating Christmas for untold years, and no one complained until recently. (And we’ve been doing it with trees and colored lights!)

Why do we have to accommodate every other religion and philosophy, but Christians are now persecuted? The Bible predicted that this day was coming.

Teresa Neumann wrote in her article about this topic, on Christian Breaking News, “An American take on I Corinthians 5:6-One bad apple will ruin the barrel, unless the barrel of apples has the sense to reject the rotten apple.” Amen!

That’s just what happened! The City Council rejected the proposal, and voted 6-1 in favor of the colored lights, Christmas trees, and other traditional displays, that the city has always had.

Regardless of your opinion, Christmas IS a Christian holiday! X-Mas is someones futile attempt to take Christ out of Christmas. I say futile, because regardless of the intimidation and persecution, no one will never be able to remove Christ (Jesus) from the heart of a believer. He will always be the reason we celebrate Christmas…

6 Comments

  1. Christmas is a Christian holiday. Yule, which was around thousands of years before the birth of Jesus, is a Pagan holiday. The date of Christ’s birth was moved closer to Yule and adopted many of the Pagan traditions in order to make Christianity more palatable to the Pagan masses. I won’t bore you with the explanations, there’s plenty of documented history by actual historians, if you’re interested.

    I don’t have a problem with whatever people want to display on their own property, but government property is owned by the people, which means all the people.

    don’t get me wrong, I don’t have a problem with people selling “Christmas” trees rather than “holiday” trees, etc. What I use the tree for is my business, they can call it what they’d like 🙂 But public property is a different issue.

  2. Thanks so much for your comment. Yes, I am well aware of the pagan origins of Christmas. But Christmas, as we have known it for so many years, IS about the birth of Christ. The thing that gets me about this Fort Collins incident is, they weren’t talking about blatantly Christian symbols, such as a Nativity Scene. They were trying to ban colored lights and trees. I find that way over the line. Even on public property, don’t you think that is going too far to try to eliminate lights and trees? Ridiculous!!! I do appreciate your comment, and thanks for stopping by. 🙂

  3. I do agree with you 🙂

    I think they were way over the line. Trees, lights, candles, etc are common threads through most all the religions that celebrate this time of year.

    People are way too sensitive these days

  4. Christmas IS strongly rooted in paganism. Virtually every symbol, practice, and color has a pagan origin.

    True Christians do not practice this holiday from hell (any more than they call Sunday the Sabbath – that’s a lie, too). Want proof Christmas is the Devil’s holiday? It’s called consumerism, suicide, depression, anxiety – need I say more? Oh, and I forgot St. Nick. Sorry.

    True Christians celebrate Christ’s birth, death, and resurrection EVERY DAY of their lives. Christmas is a lie and an abomination to God, end of story.

  5. Christ’s Mass was unknown to Christians until the Catholic Church took over the pagan Yule tide/Nimrod’s birthday/ saturnalia festivals and “Christianized” them. They have nothing to do with Christ or His birth.

    Whatsoever is not of faith is sin, and faith comes from hearing and hearing from the Word of God.

    So if you keep this holy day by faith, then you must do so in accordance with the Word of God. Yet, there is no scripture commanding or even recognizing this day.

    Furthermore there are numerous commandments that say we are not to worship God according to the ways of the heathens, neither are we to add to nor subtract from the Way He has established for us in His Word.

    Therefore, Christmas is not commanded, nor is it even necessary. And further, it would seem to be unacceptable worship of God. We must worship Him in spirit and truth. Christmas has neither the spirit nor the truth. It is therefore not acceptable worship of the true HOLY God.

    Why people will fight tooth and nail to keep their man made traditions is beyond me. It is so much easier on the spirit of a man to worship God according to the Bible rather than man’s traditions.

    Come out, My people, He says to us. But how many heed that plea of our Father? Not many it seems.

    peace-

  6. Todd and Toby: Let me introduce you to each other, as I think you would get along remarkably well with your legalistic, oppressive outlooks. However, I do thank you for your comments. Sharing thoughts is what makes blog writing so rewarding. It’s a chance to debate, or talk over our feelings about issues. I fail to see how either of you would be able to judge my Christianity. I am a believer, and an ordained minister. But the only thing that will get me into is heaven is my total faith in Jesus as my Savior. I am sorry that you feel so angry that you need to attack other Christians. I would never try to judge your faith, as only the Lord can. But at any rate, Christmas as we celebrate it these days does seem to have little to do with Christ. It’s all about materialism and spending. I guess you don’t sing Christmas carols either, huh? It must be fun to be around you at any time of year, as evidenced by your kind, and loving nature. You can try and take Christ out of Christmas, but you can never take Him out of my heart. God bless both of you, and Merry Christmas!


Leave a Reply

