Skip navigation

Wouldn’t it be great if we could just spend a week or two grieving for a loss, and then it would be done? No more sharp knives in the heart, no more waking up in the middle of the night, no more memories to constantly invade an otherwise routine day. But it seems like grief is the gift that keeps on giving. Attachments are made in this life, and love just naturally occurs. Severing that bond feels anything but natural.

My birth dad died several years ago, and his funeral was on New Years Eve. I had  never really cared for the holiday day before that, and I will never forget flying into our small town airport, having been through a tearful day of “good-byes”, as well as “hellos” to those I had not seen in a long time.  I knew that all I had hoped for in my relationship with my dad, would now never come to pass. We had known each other only on the surface, but had both longed for so much more. Distance and busy lives separated us, and sad to say, we let it. (You always think you’ll have more time.)

Not long after his death (about 5 months) my stepfather died. He had been in my life since I was age 7. Our relationship had been stormy initially, but developed into one of  the greatest miracles of my life. After I was married, and through the future years, we grew closer. He wasn’t one to have long heart to heart talks, but he often said “I love you” for no reason at all (other than the fact that he did.) The day that we found out that he needed triple bypass surgery, instead of being able to correct the problem with a stent, I cried in my car like he was already gone. My husband couldn’t understand why I  took it so hard that he would need the heart surgery, but there was a “knowing” in my spirit. I didn’t feel good about it, and I couldn’t stop crying. (Of course, I didn’t cry in front of him.) He came through the triple bypass fine, but succumbed to hospital acquired infections including pneumonia, staph, and serratia. We watched him dying through many long weeks of gasping for breath on a respirator in the ICU and CCU, and it was like a daily nightmare. Seeing him like that was so painful and heartbreaking, and even though I desperately wanted to have faith for him to live, it was apparent that minus a miracle, he wasn’t going to make it. When he died, we spent some moments as a family in his hospital room, that was eerily silent. No machines whirring, no beeps, no gasping for breath. Just a strange, stark silence.

He looked so big lying there. He was 6’4″, and I couldn’t imagine life without him. When the doctor had told us that he didn’t think Sam would make it, my mother said, (as we walked down the hospital corridor) “What am I gonna do?”

What were any of us going to do? He had represented strength to us, and a knowledge of so many things. He knew the answer to almost every question we had, and as long as Sam was around, every problem had a solution.

But once he was gone, life was brutal for my mom and me. Every day brought new discoveries of things that Sam had taken care of, that now we had to struggle with. Things like dragging the huge trashcan to the curb, wrestling to get groceries in the house after a full day of errands, a myriad of  doctor’s  appointments for my mom, bills and paperwork, house maintenance, applying for home insurance when their former insurance company left town (and being turned down by the first one, because there were too many things wrong with the aging house.)

Sometimes it seemed like all we did was fight to keep our heads above water.  I cried from exhaustion when alone at times, but mostly I just gritted my teeth, and forced my body to function when it was way past its ability. No one will ever know the toll those days took on us. I tried to compensate for what my mom couldn’t do, struggled to make sure that all her medications were filled on time, and taken properly, and was continually concerned about her diabetes, and her unpredictable episodes of low blood sugar that often scared the life out of me, until I could bring her around. Days were spent worrying about her, and nights were spent tossing and turning, with a cell phone always on and by my bed, waiting to proclaim the next catastrophe. This went on for 3 1/2 long years, and I could tell that my physical health and emotional health were declining rapidly. It felt like I was drowning, and I was trying to keep her head above water, while mine was going under for the third time. (I had lost both of my dads in the span of  5 months, and really had no chance to grieve, because there was always another crisis to get through. But no one seemed to see or care what I was dealing with. It was enough to break anyone, and there is no shame in that.)

I cried out to people around me, though honestly our family had gotten so small, there was really no one to cry out to. No one that could physically make a difference, except my brother. His total contribution had been to buy the groceries and eat them, on his lunch break every day. I never felt like I could ask him to do more, or that he would be willing to. My uncle, who lived in Atlanta, was a good sounding board, and seemed to “get” how terribly difficult this was becoming for me. He never made me feel guilty for feeling like I was about to collapse, and even though he is my mom’s brother, he advised me to do what I had to do to get out of the situation, if necessary, to protect my health.

My cousin Jack (who was more like a brother, as we had been raised together until I was 7) also wrote me one letter saying that I could only do what I was able to do. But several times after that, I talked with him, and he seemed to be reluctant to even have an opinion. When things got so bad, before my estrangement with my mom, I wrote him an email and left a couple of messages (reaching out once again), but I never got a reply. (This hurt, as we had been fairly close because of our childhood together.) To this day, I’ve never heard from him.  I changed my phone numbers so my “family” couldn’t torment me anymore, but he has always had my email address, if he wanted to reach me. He was in town for Christmas, but I was gone.  However, I doubt that he will ever contact me again. His loyalties are with my mom and brother.  It seems like this whole situation is fraught with collateral damage that couldn’t be avoided.

And I guess that is what I want to address in this post. Bereavement can cause such stress and strife in families, and the loss of my stepfather is what ultimately led to the estrangement between my mom and me. The stress of her care all falling on me, the responsibility for her happiness and well-being, the pressure to try and do the things that he had done for her, while still having to manage my own family and life, along with my mom’s increasing physical and mental problems, was just too much for our relationship.

There was some troubling history there already, though I had tried to ignore it for so long. But the more overwhelmed and tired I became (with almost no help, and the increase daily in serious problems–a broken right foot, a broken left leg, a broken right hip, and increasing dementia) then the more stressful the whole thing became. She became more and more belligerent  and rebellious. She refused to use her walker consistently, and kept falling over and over again, until I was at my wit’s end.  Now it was horribly affecting my health and well-being also. I spent half my life, it seemed, in the emergency room. Then she called me horrible names after all that I had done for her, and that was the last straw for me. As soon as I got her settled in a wonderful assisted living, my brother took her out against all medical advice, with his eye on inheriting the house. (If she had stayed in assisted living, her house would have needed to be sold, to finance her living arrangements, and he was adamantly against that. I just wanted her properly taken care of and supervised.) So I have not seen either of  them since before Thanksgiving 2008.

As you can see, there is a fallout from death. If you have not experienced it, consider yourself fortunate. It changes the family dynamic–it brings out greed in some people, and causes others to have to bear tremendous burdens alone. Many marriages are strained because of the resulting changes, and people’s lives are in the balance. Everyone can understand the pressures when a widow or widower is left to raise a child (or children) alone, but few people understand the effect that a very sick, obstinate, demanding, angry (and often just plain mean) elder, with increasing dementia can have on a primary caregiver.  For me, the problems were overwhelming, as I predict they will also eventually be for my brother, though he has help during the day (thank the Lord) when he works. I suspect that he does not have to attend every doctor appointment as I did. I had no help at all. 

Sadly, I found myself driving by the house tonight, under the cover of darkness, hoping to get a glimpse of my mother. But all I could see through the open door was my brother, standing at the sink.  I am grieving, because I will likely never see my mother again. I cared for her (and loved her) with everything in me, and tried so hard to keep her alive for the past 3 1/2 years. At times I thought maybe I would die before she did. (I take 9 medications, have diabetes and high blood pressure, and many other chronic medical problems.) Many days are a struggle for me to get through.  I gave up all my friends and social contacts, and really had little time for my daughter and husband. (Even less for myself.)

Many just do not realize how the loss of a family member changes SO much, and not just for the spouse, but for others also. And especially for those left to care for an aging, ailing parent (or small children) alone. I felt overwhelmed every day of my life.

I wish I could say that I felt numb now, or that I never think  of her or miss her. But I can’t.  She is usually the first thing on my mind every morning when I wake up, but then I remember her hateful words, and the despicable comments from my brother. That is when I pray for God to take this pain from my heart, and to help me to forgive.  I still love my mother, but I don’t feel anything for my brother.  I think indifference is much worse than hatred. At least there’s some passion and feeling in hatred.

Forgiveness is just like grieving, I guess. It doesn’t happen all at once. It’s a process. Wounds take time to heal, and anyone who says differently has never suffered heartbreak at the hands of  others. But if God says that forgiveness is possible, then I will trust that He is right.

So I guess I just needed to get that out tonight. All in all, my life is a lot better now, though my physical health is still a problem.  I still suffer from a sleep disorder. My heart will probably ache for the rest of my life over how this turned out, but God can also heal broken hearts. There is a limit to what a person can endure, and my death would not have enhanced my mom’s remaining time here on earth. 

I know that my brother is getting a dose of reality, though she will never likely emotionally abuse him, as she did me (all my life.) When you feel loved unconditionally (as he is by my mom) things are certainly easier to tolerate. But she never loved me like that, no matter how hard I tried to please her,  and I’ll never understand why.

This song is for those who have lost someone that you loved, through death or otherwise…

5 Comments

  1. But it seems like grief is the gift that keeps on giving. Oh Lonnie how i so feel your pain & heartache. Think & pray aboutyou each & every day .Yes the family dynamics how horrible, course you know the children situation.My husband & i have been seperated twice in the last 3 moonths.Ifeel he just dont get the pain.GET OVER IT, MOVE ON CMON !!!!! Then i lost my oldest brother Dec 11. I need to be surrounded with warm, compassionate, caring people as do you. So i went bk to work , what a chore everyday to drag myself arond & breath. Its so lost & lonly world, its sad people cant see or feel it. Well i guess im glad they dont have too. As far as family they have all moved on & dont see why i just cant ???????My heart goes out to you, i feel in the same journey. Thank -you so much for your great writing, kinda always seems to be the right words. love , hugs , peace & strength girlfriend. We will slowly survive this journey.
    Your friend always,
    Sandy, Shanes mom

  2. I’m sorry about your troubles, Sparkle.

    Life can be so cruel sometimes, and I wish you brighter days, very soon.

  3. Hi Sparkle, its been a short time since I have been on and done any reading. I have been in one of my “just don’t go there” ways and felt better not going to either of my blogs………

    As I read your post it became so apparent how far and yet not so far you have come in your grief cycle with your mother and that probably is because you never had time to settle the other 2 grief periods with your fathers.

    I was concerned by two points in your post that I wish you give some additional thought–you drove by her house and you state God says forgiveness is possible. God also says honor thy Father and Mother…..but is that practical for you? Your driving by your mother’s house certainly is not like someone going to the cemetery to visit their loved one. The cemetery trip is a safe one in the journey of grief. Driving by your mother’s isn’t safe Next you will be stopping and gazing in the window. And who is it that you wish to forgive or think about forgiving. Be careful with forgiveness for a while, because if it is for your mother you may find that forgiveness will lead you back to desiring her love and love ain’t there. Forgive your brother–well that is debateable….should he ever be forgiven for never seeing the individual trees in the forest?

    My dear Sparkle, you have been on the right track……you are need to regain your focus and grieve for the mother you never had, the two father’s you had and remind yourself that the goodness in you was not from your mother. I wish you loads of sympathy on this journey we are on and when I have bad days I think of how you are, but we each need to keep on going. Try focusing on your fathers. They seem appropriate to be grieved. The other like your mother and brother focus on the pain you have in you caused by them and grieve for the mother you never had…..I think never having one and then to grieve with the birth mother alive is more difficult than grieving as I do you will make it down your path…..

    I send you hugs, I said you a prayer to keep the chin up, the smile on your face and the reality that driving by her house is bad, bad, bad.
    Frank

  4. Sparkle,
    Loss is loss and pain is pain. Family dynamics do change when one person is no longer in your life. The world is no longer as you knew it.
    Thanks for being transparent and thanks for sharing your pain.

    Don’t be surprised to see this song on my blog site. It applies to my life daily because Dan still has all of me…

  5. Even though i’m just a young adult, i know how you feel about your mother. I have cared for mine since i was 10, as her pain only got worse and worse. As the years past, i found she didn’t *try* to do things anymore. She only asked for me more and more. Sometimes i was selfish, sometimes i would ignore her and hide away in my room. I was only a kid back then. She just has this way about her, that i cant stand. So many fights, and with her overdosing on meds all the time. I grew up watching my mother sleep on the floor, and wake up in a terror of pain because of her bones. I delt with this until i was 18, and i moved across the usa to get as far away from her. I still love her, but i cant shake the years she has used me, or the burden of her pain as a child. I was so mad with her back then i dont know how i feel about her now. Maybe i am mad, because i never could shop with my mother, or go out with her, or do just normal things as a family. All i know is that i doubt i’ll ever return to my hometown.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

